A Notary Public is commissioned by the New York State Secretary of State. They are commissioned in their counties of residence. After receiving and approving an applicant for a notary public commission, the Secretary of State forwards the commission, the original oath of office and the signature of the notary public to the appropriate county clerk. The county clerk maintains a record of the commission and signature and is responsible for the renewal of all notaries in the county. Commissions are for a term of four years. 

All applicants must submit to the Division of Licensing Services an original application and $60.00 fee. The application includes an oath of office which must be sworn and notarized. In addition to the application form and fee, the applicant must submit a pass slip showing that he or she has taken and passed the notary public examination. 

Examinations are regularly scheduled through the state. For a list of testing sites and dates in our area and for a guide of the Notary Public License Law, go to www.dos.state.ny.us and click on Licensed Professions/Occupations.