Public Works
Orleans County Department of Public Works
225 West Academy Street
Albion, New York 14411
Phone: 585-589-6145
Fax: 585-589-1620


The mission of the Department of Public Works is to enhance the quality of life for the residents of Orleans County by providing well-planned progressive, cost effective, high quality infrastructure improvements and public service.

The Department of Public Works is divided up into two divisions:  Highways and Buildings and Grounds.

The Highway Division is responsible for overseeing 196 miles of County Highways, 64 County bridges, ditch improvements, traffic safety, fuel station and snowplowing for the County parking lots.  We also provide vehicle service maintenance to all County vehicles and certain designated agencies.

The Buildings and Grounds Division is responsible for the maintenance and operational conditions of 20 buildings with 28 departments which include preventive maintenance, new construction and refurbishing along with a crew of janitorial services.

The Orleans County Department of Public Works is headed by the Commissioner of Public Works.  His staff consists of an Assistant County Engineer, Deputy Commissioner Highways, Deputy Commissioner Facilities, and an Assistant to the Commissioner and Fuel Station Manager, (3) Administrative employees, Motor Equipment Operators, Auto Mechanics, Building Maintenance Workers and a Janitorial staff.

Chips (Consolidated Highway Improvement Program) -provides state funds to municipalities to support the construction and repair of highways, bridges, highway-railroad crossing, and other facilities that are not on the state highway system.  Apportionments are calculated annual by the NYSDOT.  Upon approval of the State Budget, NYSDOT determines each municipality's final CHIPS Capital Apportionment for the new State fiscal year and notifies the municipality of the available amount.   To support the continuous funding and other state infrastructure funding, please email or contact your NYS Senate – 62nd district and your NYS Assemblyman – 139th District.