WE ARE NO LONGER ACCEPTING MAIL IN REQUESTS OF ANY TYPE.
ALL PISTOL PERMIT HOLDERS MUST MAKE APPOINTMENTS TO APPEAR IN PERSON FOR AMENDMENTS TO THEIR PISTOL PERMITS.
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS REGARDING RECENT CHANGES TO NEW YORK STATE FIREARM LAWS
PISTOL PERMIT OFFICE IS BY APPOINTMENT ONLY
The Orleans County Pistol Permit Office is located at the Orleans County Clerk’s Office at 3 South Main Street. Pistol Permit Clerk, Joanne Marek, can be contacted by calling 585-283-4961. Service at this time is by appointment only.
NEW Applications for a Pistol Permit are available at the Orleans County Sheriff’s Department. Please call 585-590-4142 for fees and instructions on obtaining an application. All applications that were purchased before September 1, 2022 will no longer be accepted.
Application questions can be directed to Joanne Marek, Orleans County Pistol Permit Clerk by calling 585-283-4961.
Background checks for purchase of ammunition will be required in NYS starting September 13, 2023. The cost will be $2.50 per transaction. Background checks for purchase of a firearm will continue but will now cost $9.00 per transaction.
Carry concealed permits now have 3 year recertification requirements. If your permit was issued prior to
September 1, 2020 you must recertify on line at the NYS Trooper’s website
by August 31,2023. If you recertified after or obtained your permit after September 1, 2020, you can wait 3 years to recertify.
New York State Pistol/Revolver License Holder:
New York State (NYS) firearms laws require pistol/revolver license holders to recertify their status every three years for carry concealed pistol permits. Follow link below more information:
The status of submitted recertification forms can be conveniently checked by visiting the below link. You will need to have your New York State Driver License or Non-Driver Identification Card in order to check or complete your recertification status.
EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 27, 2022, YOUR CURRENT ORLEANS COUNTY PISTOL PERMIT CAN BE AMENDED TO INCLUDE THE SEMI-AUTO RIFLE ENDORSEMENT, as follows:
- You must be a current Orleans County Pistol Permit Holder, in good standing.
WE WILL REQUIRE:
- Your current Orleans County Pistol Permit;
- Current Driver’s License;
- $10.00 Fee; and
- ORIGINAL completed, signed and dated “APPLICATION FOR SEMI-AUTOMATIC RIFLE LICENSE” (fillable form available above, and at the Orleans County Clerk’s Office.)
You can apply for this Endorsement by APPOINTMENT ONLY at the Orleans County Pistol Permit Office, made by calling: 585-283-4961
When applying in person, this process will be completed at your appointment, and you will be given a new permit card reflecting the semi-auto rifle endorsement and date of its issue.
**PLEASE NOTE: Semi-auto Rifle Permits cannot be issued on your paper Pistol/Revolver Permit. You will need to make an appointment with the Pistol Permit Office to obtain your plastic permit, which will require that we take your picture, thumbprint, and signature which will appear on your permit. At that time, the semi-auto Rifle Endorsement will be added. The total fee would be $15.00.